CONTEST: The Cooperstown Grid (Big HOF Prize!)

THE CONTEST HAS ENDED. “THE JAW” FIGURED OUT THE CORRECT ANSWER, NOLAN RYAN. DETAILS WILL BE POSTED LATER TONIGHT/TOMORROW. FOR NOW, SEE IF YOU CAN FIGURE OUT HOW HE DID IT. CONGRATS JAW!

Last month, when I created the Crack This! contest, it was far more successful than I had anticipated. It seems that there are quite a few out there who like puzzles so I’m back again to give you your fix with something I call The Cooperstown Grid. Here’s how it works:

Below, you will find a 9×9 jumble of letters. Hidden in the jumble are the identities of several baseball Hall of Famers. Your job will be not only to figure out who these men are, but use them (the real puzzle) to figure out the identity of the secret Hall of Famer, who is the key to winning this contest. The first person to correctly post the identity of the secret Hall of Famer ON THIS POST will be declared the winner and will win a VERY special prize of someone related to this contest (something awesome, trust me). The special prize will be revealed once the contest is over.

EDIT: If you are viewing this post on the homepage, click on this particular post to see the grid better. The letters should be centered that way.

EDIT2: Not only are the grid letters important in this puzzle… Numbers are as well. This will be the only hint I give.

COOPERSTOWN GRID

1               2            3             4            5           6          7            8           9

M

A

E

Y

Z

D

N

B

S

I

L

J

E

I

A

O

I

O

R

P

M

N

D

Z

G

B

B

M

A

S

A

H

K

L

R

C

O

V

E

N

A

A

E

E

Y

R

E

T

O

R

N

E

S

K

N

G

Y

S

N

E

W

E

E

W

Y

N

E

R

N

R

U

N

O

N

T

D

O

H

S

H

O

Posted on August 25, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I’m confused, I don’t want to say it but I think I’m giving up dude!

  2. I always like your contest there the best outta all the contest in other blogs. There always hard but I like it when I find out the answer.

  3. Ill give it guess tony Gwynn

  4. Gwynn is not the correct answer. Feel free to try again if you wish.

    BTW, thanks for the compliments. I try to make my contests the best in the blogosphere, or at least the most unique.

  5. im so close, yet, still clueless!

  6. Im sooo close the second part is hard

  7. I’ve got the first part done, but I don’t know where to go from there. I guess that’s the whole point.

  8. I think it is Harmon Killebrew.

  9. Good guesses, but not what I’m looking for. You have to think outside the box a little (no pun intended) and remember what I said in the second edit of this post.

  10. I got it! Nolan Ryan…hopefully!

  11. YES! Nolan Ryan is correct! E-mail me your address, please.

    -John

Leave a Reply

