Just Curious…

I have no box break, Old School Hit, or anything else planned for today, but rather a question. I did receive some feedback on my Crack This! contest but given the number of people that viewed it, I’d like some more.

What did you think of the contest, honestly? What should I have changed if anything? Was it too difficult? Too easy?

I admit that I did not take into consideration the fact that not everyone is able to see colors so for that I apologize. From start to finish, I put no more than about 2 hours of work into it so it was a bit rushed perhaps. Anyway, I’d appreciate it if you would vote below. Comments are very welcome.

Posted on July 28, 2009, in Announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I love contests but RARELY ever participate in any.

    Keep em coming!

  2. My wife and I worked on it for about three hours, but I couldn’t figure out the Kong/mini thing and it stalled. In retrospect, it seems obvious. The only complaint we had was trying to find all the blue and purple letters, but that added to the challenge. All in all, I thought it was well done.

  3. Just to clarify, we’re not colorblind or anything, it was just hard to see those particular colors on our monitors. We went back to the ‘best of’ pages at least three times and were still short letters at the end.

  4. Mario – You must be like me. I’d rather hold the contest than participate in someone else’s!

    Greg – I’m glad it made for a good challenge. Some of the letters may have been hard to find but that’s only because I wanted specific letters in the code to form words that could’ve thrown people off. Just part of the challenge!

    Thanks for the input guys!

  5. Greg – Some of us actually are color blind…

  6. AdamE – that would make things significantly more difficult.

  7. Loved the contest. The first 2 clues, no problem. Had all the letters and in the right order before you gave the hint “Best Of”… but the third clue bit me.
    I thought maybe it would make sense after I figured out the pattern, but didn’t put 2+2 together that it was the clue to figure out the pattern.
    Scott figured it out… good for him!

  8. I thought it was a good puzzle. I gave it an hour or two of pleasant effort, but could not parse the final hint that explained how to read the letters.

    The hints weren’t really hints, they were cryptic instructions. In other words, they weren’t something that could help you if you were stuck, they were something you had to make sense of to solve the puzzle.

    I say keep coming up with the puzzles. In fact, if you could have found a way to hide your hint list so that we had to solve different bits of the puzzle to get each hint, this would have been a truly great effort.

Leave a Reply

