Crack This! WINNER AND SOLUTION!

Well, not even 24 hours after I unveiled the code, we have our winner! The winner was Scott of Hand Collated!!!. I’m not sure if I made the code hard enough but I didn’t want to make it so hard that nobody would get it for days on end. Anyway, here’s the solution to my contest and the meaning of all the colors and hints that I gave:

I told you that the characters you’d need would be highlighted in bold colors in selected posts. I also gave the subtle (later not so subtle) hint that clicking on my Best Of page would be of great importance as this was your starting point. When you click on this page, you’ll notice that five posts have their numbers and dates highlighted in different colors: red, orange, blue, violet, and green. The object was to go to each of these posts and write down the highlighted characters IN THE CORRECT ORDER, as in the order of the spectrum/rainbow. Remember that mnemonic device, ROY G. BIV, that you probably used in grade school? That was the key to figuring out the order OR you could’ve just looked at the original post as I highlighted the word “COLOR” in the different colors in their proper order. This was what clue 1, Follow the Rainbow, was referring to.

The characters from each post, in order were:

1. ’98 Flair (red) : XMIT0R3WICPNP1EO

2. ’97 EX-2000 (orange): SAWTBY9ECMIKE

3. Blog Bat Around (green): 9RTTALSUOYCK6HS

4. ’99 Skybox Thunder (blue): O8UN9C59EH2XR

5. ’97 Donruss Elite (violet): 5GEVOS8ETLW

The second clue was called ‘X’ Marks the Spot. The actual meaning of this was only to confirm that the letter ‘X’ was the first character in the cluster that you’d have to decode and it would serve as the point to where you have to start the “special pattern” in order to find the message which leads to me to clue 3….

Kong Sketch, Your Team Mini

What in the hell could that possibly mean??? This was a reference to the epic, EPIC, Gint-A-Cuffs competition! If you’ve been keeping up with it, you’d know that as per the scoring of Gint-A-Cuffs, a Brian Kong Sketch card is valued at 3 points or (+3) and a mini of your favorite team (assuming they aren’t the Yankees) is worth 1 point or (+1). This is the pattern that was used to find the message.

So to put that all together: START THE ‘X’ AND ADVANCE 3, THEN ADVANCE 1. REPEAT UNTIL YOU GET TO THE END OF THE CLUSTER AND YOU’LL HAVE THE MESSAGE!

The winning message then reads as:

TOWINPOSTBECKETTSUCKSON99EXREVIEW

The first person to go to my review of 1999 E-X(Century) and leave a comment saying that Beckett sucks (come on, there had to be Beckett bashing) would then be declared the winner and that’s exactly what happened with Scott!
Congrats Scott and thanks to everyone that has checked out my blog in the past 24 hours (over 1,000 of you which is ridiculous traffic for this blog)! I hope you had fun trying to figure out my nonsense and that nobody went crazy trying to figure it out. Who knows, maybe I’ll come up with something next year when the 2010 code comes out. 😉

Posted on July 26, 2009, in Contests and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That was pretty clever i wasnt even close to the solution

  2. Sweet contest! I started trying to figure it out last night, but then I had a few beers, and lost interest.

  3. I tried, but my stupid brain crapped out on me. Very cool contest, though!

  4. I am color blind… and can’t add so good. No fair. I liked it nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

