2001 UD Decade 1970’s Baseball Review (CONTEST WINNER!)

Here it is! The box that you voted for, 2001 UD Decade 1970’s has finally arrived and we’ll finally decide a contest winner! Before I reveal who won, let’s have a look at the rest of the box.

Box Details: 24 packs per box, 5 cards per pack. $55

ud70s
Base set: The base set is comprised of 180 total cards: 90 basic cards, 20 Rookie Flashbacks, 30 Decade Datelines, 30 Award Winners, and 10 World Series Highlights. The 90 basic cards have variations in color while the subsets all look like those in the scan. Altogether, I pulled 103 of the 180 cards (57%) with 5 duplicates.

Pinstripe Exclusives Box Topper Pack: In 2001, every Upper Deck product contained a 3-card box topper pack called Pinstripe Exclusives. Depending on which product you purchased, you’d find a pack filled with cards of either Mickey Mantle or Joe DiMaggio. Most of the time, one would only find basic cards from a 56-card set but possible game-used and even cut autographed cards were available. I pulled cards number 3, 29, and 39 of Joe DiMaggio. I forgot to include one of these in the scans but I found this auction where someone is selling the exact three cards that I pulled from my pack. Strange.

70sinserts
Decade Dynasties (10 cards, 1:14 packs):
Each card in this set features a player representing a team that was a force during the 1970’s. I pulled two in this box. The first was of Mike Schmidt, whose Phillies were division champions from 1976-78. The other was of Steve Garvey, whose Dodgers won three pennants in the decade.

Bellbottomed Bashers (10 cards, 1:14 packs): Like you’d expect, this insert focuses on the sluggers of the ’70s. Each card has a green checkerboard border and a foil-treated background around the player. My pulls were of Mike Schmidt and George Foster.

Arms Race (10 cards, 1:14 packs): This set focuses on the best pitchers of the decade. The bottom third of the border here is drowned with foil and doesn’t scan very well. This specific area is blue and contains several small stars in case you can’t tell. My pulls were of Phil Niekro and Tom Seaver.

Disco Era Dandies (6 cards, 1:23 packs): It wouldn’t be a ’70s-themed set without at least one real colorful, trippy-looking card so here it is. The card I pulled was Lou Brock.

Super Powers (6 cards, 1:23 packs):
This may have been my favorite insert of the box. There’s just something cool about it. Perhaps it’s the background at which Reggie Jackson is slugging away.

Alright, now that the inserts are out of the way, it’s time to reveal who won the contest. I’m happy to announce that the winning bat card was selected by one of the commenters and that no random drawing was held. Drum roll please….

…………..

baylorbat
My box yielded this game-used bat card of Don Baylor which means that Greg A. has won the contest! Congratulations Greg! Shoot me an e-mail (front page) with your info and the prize lot will go out to you ASAP!

Before I continue with my final thoughts, I want to announce that there was an added twist to this contest. After pulling the Baylor early in the box, I didn’t anticipate pulling yet another bat card, this one just a little better than the first:

70squadbat
Holy NL MVPs! A quad bat card featuring Johnny Bench (’70, ’72), Steve Garvey (’74), Willie Stargell (’79), and George Foster (’77)! The combination bat cards are very tough pulls, seeded 1 in every 336 packs, or 1 in every 14 boxes! Now the twist: I am willing to give away a second-place “consolation” prize to the first one who selected any one of these four players. Looking at the list, neither Bench nor Stargell are on the individual bat card list but Garvey and Foster are.

Mike Newman took Steve Garvey with one of the very first selections so he will win the secondary lot consisting of the two Schmidt inserts, the two Arms Race inserts, and the Baylor bat card! Congrats Mike!

Final Thoughts/Grades:
Condition: B.

Overall, the condition was very good with the exception of a couple base cards that had bending corners.

Collation: A.

I’m used to getting absurd amounts of duplicates in my boxes so when they’re limited to just about 4% of the box, I’m happy.
Pulls: A.

It was great beating the odds and getting the extra game-used, especially when it was a case hit (I think, anyway)! There was some nice star power in the inserts, including the Reggie, Seaver, and TWO Schmidts!
Value: B+.

If I could change anything about this product, it’d have to be the number of cards per pack. People who bust this product will likely want to complete the base set so at minimum, I would’ve put 7 cards per pack. A slight extension of the base set might’ve been nice also but overall, I think Upper Deck did a nice job with this set. I think a lot of my fellow bloggers (and readers) would enjoy this set and should check it out if they haven’t already.

Final Grade: A.

Posted on May 11, 2009, in Box Breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great set. Great pulls. Enjoyed this immensely even though I didn’t win.

  2. Wow, that second bat card is awesome – two Reds on it too! I’m jealous that I never pull anything remotely as cool as that!

  3. That was a great box break… and a cool, unique contest. Keep up the great blog!

  4. PunkRockPaint

    Fun!

  5. so cool how the design of the cards relfect the 70’s as a whole

  6. Thanks to John for running the contest and finishing my master set of the Decade 70’s with the Reggie!

Leave a Reply

