A Huge, Huge Surprise!

I like to think of myself as a very generous person and I know that I’m not the only one in the blogosphere who thinks so. However, my generosity pales in comparison to that of a man named Tim, who left me a message a week ago claiming he had a “surprise” for me involving my favorite hockey player, Martin Brodeur. When I received this message, I was expecting no more than a few cards or an oddball item or something similar. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Three days after sending him my address, I received a small box in the mail. Inside was a note from Tim, stating that he had a lot of Brodeur cards that he had saved for a few years and that he wanted me to have them. Rather than sending me a few cards, Tim sent me a lot containing ONE HUNDRED cards, all of the New Jersey Devils’ goaltender. The card years ranged from 1992-93 to 2000-01. Below are some samples of cards that were brand new to my collection.

brodeurlot1
brodeurlot2
The lot also left me with several doubles that I will use for tradebait. Overall, my Martin Brodeur collection has now reached 631 different cards. Here are scans of some of the doubles from the lot.

brodeurdupelot
brodeurdupelot2
Once again, thank you so much Tim for this wonderful package and for continuing to read my blog! You don’t know how much this had made my week.

P.S. If Matt my fellow Brodeur collector is reading this, I will e-mail you a list of duplicates shortly.

Posted on March 9, 2009, in Maildays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Those are awesome! I’m going to the Canes vs Devils game on the 18th. Hopefully I’ll be able to see some history that night. Go Devils!

  2. Nothing to it. I wanted these to go to a home where they would be appreciated, rather than sitting in a dust-gathering box in my basement. I do like the look of the cards, though. Something about hockey cards makes them seem so…vibrant. Maybe I should pick out a player to collect.

  3. Man, I hope I’m the only fellow Brodeur collector named Matt to whom you might be sending a list … !!!

    I can return the tradelist favor as well. It is an exciting time to be a Brodeur fan, not to mention a collector.

Leave a Reply

