A Contest for my Canadian Friends! (a.k.a. Hockey Trivia!)

So tonight I found myself watching the NHL Network and what should I see? It was the New York Rangers facing off against the Toronto Maple Leafs. I’m always up for watching a hockey game, even if my Devils aren’t involved, especially if there’s someone I can root against, like the Rangers (who lost in a shootout). I didn’t watch the whole game, only the last half or so, but something said in the third period made my head explode.

The announcers were talking about Scott Gomez, who spent his first seven NHL seasons in New Jersey when one of them said something to the effect of:

“You think about all the guys who played for New Jersey and went to New York. Bobby Holik. John MacLean. Bruce Driver. Driver actually did very well in New York and won a [Stanley] Cup with them in 1994.”

I couldn’t help but laugh my ass off at this statement, which is erroneous for the following reasons:

driver
1. In 1994, when the Rangers won the Stanley Cup, Driver was a member of the New Jersey Devils.
2. Driver did indeed win a Stanley Cup, but it was in 1995, as a Devil.
3. Driver did indeed play for the Rangers, but it wasn’t until the 1995-96 season, the year after his win with New Jersey and two years after the Rangers had won.

Shameless plug: Two days ago, I posted about Bruce Driver at my other blog, NJ Devils Cards.

So anyway, the statement got me thinking. There have been quite a few players who have donned both the sweaters of the New York Rangers and New Jersey Devils, but my question is:

What two players who skated for the Rangers during the 1993-94 season later played for the New Jersey Devils?

Here are a few quick rules:
1. Despite the title of this post, non-Canadians can play.
2. Only one guess per person.
3. The first person to submit the correct answer will win their choice of hockey or baseball cards.

Good luck!

Posted on February 25, 2009, in Contests and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love random hockey trivia:

    Esa Tikkanen
    Sergei Nemchinov

  2. Sergei Nemchinov and Esa Tikkanen

  3. Tikkanen and Nemchinov are correct! I figured this would get answered pretty quickly.

    Dan – you were the first to answer correctly so please send me an email jhollod AT gmail DOT com.

    Let me know what you collect and I’ll do my best to put a little prize pack together for you.

Leave a Reply

