Following Flash

Recently, Peter of Dropped Third Strike posted about a Yankee Stadium Legacy card of great significance to him, one that showcased the final game he witnessed live at the old Yankee Stadium. After reading that post, I was determined to find the YSL card that featured a significant game to me, the one that I attended with my father that solidified Paul O’Neill’s status as my favorite Yankee forever. For the full story, click here.

After browsing several YSL cards for game numbers and dates, I was able to track my game down. The card I was looking for Game 5615 and based on the portion of the set this game fell into, I concluded that John Wetteland was on the front of the card. A quick visit to Sportlots a few days ago yielded this card this morning:

wettelandysl
Does it bother me that John Wettleland is on the front of this card and not my guy? Not really. Wetteland actually did play in this game, surrendering a run on three hits in the ninth inning. However, looking at the back of the card, it’s clear who the star of the game was.

wettelandyslback

Posted on February 10, 2009, in Announcements and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

