2000 SPx Baseball Review (HUGE PULL!!!)

00spxWell, here she is! It’s the box of 2000 SPx I told you guys (and gals) about last week. If you’re wondering where my “huge pull” is, you’re just going to have to read on, or just scroll down if you want. I’ve seen boxes of this product being priced at $80-100 (sometimes more) online. Recently, I found this box on sale for just about $60 (DACardWorld) and took a shot. I was VERY pleased with the results.

Box Details: 4 cards per pack, 18 packs per box. ~$60

Base set: The set is comprised of a 90-card short set, which is followed by 30 rookies/young stars. I pulled 56 of 90 short set cards, for 62%. There were also 5 duplicates.

Young Star Signature: The rookies/young stars featured on cards 91-120 are broken into three tiers:

Tier 1 – 1,000 of each, unautographed
Tier 2 – 1,500 of each, autographed
Tier 3 – 500 of each, autographed (Burrell, Beltran, Kapler only)

My pull was none other than Vernon Wells (/1,500), a two-time All-Star for the Blue Jays. I can live with that. At least it wasn’t Erubiel Durazo, who has haunted me in the past.

SPXCitement (20 cares, 1:4 packs): These are just some low filler inserts, but I kinda like them. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because I like black? My pulls were: Chipper, Maddux, Rolen, Pudge, and Nomar. Pudge came out of the pack with some nasty chipping along the top.

Power Brokers (20 cards, 1:8 packs): Our first headache-inducing card belongs to Carlos Delgado. This insert looks like it belongs in the Black Diamond product of the same year. It’s a busy design to say the least…

Heart of the Order (20 cards, 1:8 packs): Of all the regular inserts in this product, this one is my favorite. The players in this set all batted somewhere in the 3-4-5 spots in their team’s lineup on a regular basis. Those exact 1999 lineups can be found on the left side of the card. I pulled a Bernie Williams and a Larry Walker. It’s been a while since you’ve seen the names Ricky Ledee or Edgard Clemente, huh?

Highlight Heroes (10 cards, 1:16 packs): This insert set highlights men who won the major awards (MVP, Cy Young, ROY, etc.) of 1999. The small writing in the black boxes at the top and bottom of the card are the player’s stat line from the award-winning season. My pull was Randy Johnson, whose line looked like this: 17-9, 2.48 ERA, 364 K’s.

What WASN’T Pulled: Here’s a quick rundown of what I didn’t pull in this box. Foundations is a 10-card set with inserts coming in just about every other box. These feature a nice closeup shot of the player, with three much smaller pictures in the foreground. Untouchable Talents are found 1 in every 96 packs and feature the same type of technology used on the Power Brokers insert. The Radiance (/100) and Spectrum (/1) parallels are also here as well. Lastly, SPx Signatures are found at a rate of 1 in every 10 boxes. This set boasts a VERY impressive checklists featuring Ripken, Griffey, Bonds, Jeter, Clemens, Gwynn, Guerrero, Bagwell, Manny, and even El Duque!

Alright, now for the part you’ve all been waiting for, the huge pull I promised. Remember those Winning Materials cards I recently talked about on an Old School Hits post? Well, I pulled the Vernon Wells autograph about halfway into this box, and immediately thought the box was virtually “dead.” I was very wrong. About four packs after finding the Wells, THIS SHOWED UP:

BONDS-JO!!!!!!!!

BONDS-JO!!!!!!!!

OH. MY. GAWD. AN AUTOGRAPHED WINNING MATERIALS BARRY BONDS 8/25!!!!! That’s one hell of an extra hit, isn’t it? Say what you will about Bonds, this is still a RIDICULOUS card. To illustrate just how hard these are to find, there are only 75 total amongst FOUR players. Bonds signed 25 while Griffey signed 24, ManRam signed 24 and some other guy only signed 2 (but if I pulled that, someone would have a major problem with me and show up at my door with weapons or something, ha!).

Final Thoughts: I think it goes without saying that this was one of the best boxes I’ve ever ripped, with the Bonds being of my top 2 or 3 pulls to date. When considering buying a box of this product, remember there’s only one guaranteed hit per box. In all likelikhood, it will be a young star/rookie autograph, and if it isn’t someone named Beltran, Burrell, Beckett, or Soriano, you may walk away disappointed. Despite the fact that the price has come down recently (Dave and Adam’s have them regularly for 70 now), it might be a bit much of a gamble for some. But you folks should know by now that I’ll bust anything old for this blog.

As always, thanks for reading and good luck with your own breaks!
-John

Posted on January 8, 2009, in Box Breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. HOLY…….

    Congrats! See what it fetches on eBay!

  2. Nice card. I always like the hand-written numbered things for some reason.

    And for the record, I wouldn’t hurt you. In fact you’d never see me coming. I’d be like a ninja.

  3. Awesome hit! Still waiting for the Bonds game-used syringe card 🙂

    You might want to wait a few years for Bonds’ reputation to rebound a little before trying to sell it, if you’re going to.

  4. Congrats on the monster pull!

  5. Dave, I totally agree with you. I think I’ll hold on to it unless someone makes an offer that just blows me away. Thanks for the comments everyone!

  6. That’s GREAT! I love old boxes for that very reason.

    I probably would have pulled an expired redemption…

  7. Barry Bonds’ reputation will rebound some in 2010 when he’s at the center of Ken Burns’ next documentary about baseball, The Tenth Inning. So don’t put this pull on eBay quite yet.

  1. Pingback: 2000 SPX Review #2 (Future Hall of Fame Auto) | Old School Breaks

Leave a Reply

