1999 Skybox Premium Baseball Review

In addition to 2000 Topps Gallery, another box I recently picked up for cheap was 1999 Skybox Premium. Unfortunately, this box wasn’t nearly as good as the Topps Gallery, as you probably guessed based on the cards I decided to showcase in the scan above. First off, I should say that I don’t dislike this product. The base cards are pretty nice. They are colorful and plentiful. The inserts weren’t bad either. I just got stuck with a dud box, but for $24, what could I really expect? Each box contains 24 packs of 8 cards so at a dollar per pack, I could at least say I got some nice looking cards. Anyway, here’s what I pulled:

Base cards: The base set is comprised of 300 cards, while the master set is comprised of 350 cards. I’ll explain this in a minute. The base cards are very colorful. The front of every card features the player’s initials in cursive letters, directly above the name/team/position information. All of these feature a gold, shiny font. The players also have a blend of colors directly around them, somewhat like “motion lines.” That sounds a little strange, but if you look at the Nomar Garciaparra base card above, you’ll understand. With that said, the first 222 cards are strictly veterans. Cards 223-272 feature 50 different players designated as “rookies.” This is where that master set thing comes into play. The 50 “rookie” cards are not shortprinted themselves, but they DO have a shortprinted variation that are seeded 1 in every 8 packs. How can you tell which is which? The SP’s feature full body shots of the player while the basic cards feature close-up shots. Thanks to reader Enomes for correcting me. Cards 273-297 make up a subset called Spring Fling. These cards, both front AND back, are designed to look like a postcard. There’s even a mock postmark on the back! Kinda cheesy but kinda cool…..I guess. Finally, 3 checklists at the end round up the base set. In this box, I received 181 of 300 cards with 2 duplicates and 3 shortprinted rookies. When the only one of these rookies you can recognize is Joe McEwing, that’s never a good sign.

Live Bats: These card were seeded 1 in every 7 packs. I ended up with Frank Thomas, Jeff Bagwell, and Scott Rolen. I’m not sure how to begin describing these so I’ll let the scan do the talking. They’re not particularly bad-looking inserts, but somehow, I just don’t feel them.

Soul of the Game: Looking like something straight out of the early 1970’s, these cards can be found 1 in every 14 packs. I pulled a Mike Piazza here. Boy, he sure does show up in my breaks a lot! I don’t want to use the word “groovy” to describe this insert set, but it just looks……um……..nevermind.

Star Rubies: This might’ve been the hit of my box here, sadly. This parallel features an awesome finish to the card with red font all over and is limited to just 50. I should note that the SP rookies also have this parallel, only numbered to just 15. It was pretty cool finding one of these, even if it was just Javy Lopez. On a side note, if I ended up pulling one of these of Paul O’Neill, this would’ve instantly qualified for one of my favorite breaks ever. 😀 Remember, pulling a card /50 was pretty rare at the time, so this might’ve been a 1:2 box pull (or more perhaps?).

So concludes another old box break of mine. Like I said earlier, I don’t dislike this product. I just felt that this box in particular just didn’t offer much and have that one standout pull, but I guess all products have those. There were several other inserts I didn’t receive any of: Diamond Debuts (1:49 packs) Show Business (1:70 packs), Intimidation Nation (numbered to 99) and Autographics (1:68 packs). I thought maybe I would’ve hit at least one of those with a 24-pack box, but it was not to be. If you think about opening a box of this product, I hope this review doesn’t discourage you. The set and inserts are pretty nice overall and there’s always a chance at a big pull. Autographs aren’t that unattainable and have a decent checklist that features the likes of A-Rod, Gwynn, Glavine, Schilling, Rolen, Burrell, Alomar, and many others. I just hope that if you do decide to try a box of 1999 Skybox Premium in the future, that you’ll fare better than I did.

As always, thanks for the read and good luck with your own box breaks!
-John

Posted on April 20, 2008, in Box Breaks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for this post! it was very helpful for me because i had never heard of the star rubies before. I was wondering if you could help with a BV? i came across a Roy Halladay Star Rubie (says rookie on the front) but its not a SP Rookie (#ed 38/50 or something). I couldnt find in beckett or anywhere online.

    Paid $10 for the Roy Hallday Star Rubie Rookie, any idea the BV? e-mail would be greatly appreciated. Again, thanks for the awesome post, really helped me understand the set better.

  2. The short print is the full body shot not the up close shot!

Leave a Reply

