2000 E-X Baseball Box 2

I have a total of five boxes that have been busted and are awaiting review (yes, there will be more hockey!) so I thought I’d start things off with an old favorite of mine, 2000 E-X baseball. I broke a box of this product when this blog was brand new. In fact, this post comes nearly two years to the day that I broke that last box! Here’s a quick recap of box number two.

Box Details: 24 packs per box, 3 cards per pack, $29
From: Baseball Card Exchange


Base set: Each base card has a unique color theme, based on the team of the player depicted. Altogether, there are 60 short set base cards (I pulled 56/60, 93%), followed by 30 shortprinted prospect cards which are numbered to 3499….


…..and they look something like this. I pulled two prospects: Wily Mo Pena (1522/3499) and Cesar King (1302/3499).


Generation E-X (15 cards, 1:8 packs): Rick Ankiel, Nomar Garciaparra, Pat Burrell


E-Xciting (10 cards, 1:24 packs): Mark McGwire

I love the creativity of this insert. The player….not so much.


E-Xplosive (20 cards, numbered to 2499): Sammy Sosa


E-Xceptional (15 cards, varied numbering): Pedro Martinez (0539/1999)

These cards are available in Red (/1999), Green (/999), and Blue (/250) variations. I love these cards. Some day I’ll make a master set of them….maybe.


Autographics (1:24 packs): Bobby Abreu

Here’s a solid piece of Phillies tradebait. Anyone interested?

Final Thoughts/Grades:

Collation: B

The collation was about what I expected. I received one more duplicate from this box than I had the last one. I’m used to far worse.

Condition: D

The base cards are very subject to peeling. In some cases, it may just be a corner. In others, much worse. I didn’t experience too much of this in the last box I opened, but I wasn’t as lucky this time. Keep this fact in mind when deciding whether or not to try a box. (For the record, the inserts were flawless).

Pulls: B

Nothing to complain about here. I was especially happy that my autograph was of an established veteran and not someone with 5 career games.

Value: A

I was happy to find this box for around the $30 mark, about $20 less than the typical asking price. For that price, I’d still recommend the box regardless of what I said about potential condition issues. The cards are brilliant overall and if you pull any damaged base cards, just let me know and I can replace them for you as I have nearly 3 sets worth of this stuff!

It’s great to be back.

Overall Grade: B

Posted on April 28, 2010, in Box Breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. awesome. I always like the eX2000 stuff.

  2. Fleer/Skybox was great and I think E-X was their greatest effort! We need to see these guys get back into the hobby.

  3. Cool box, glad to hear there’s some hockey coming as well!!!

  4. Active companies talk about innovation, but they never make anything like E-X…

    Glad you’re back and into hockey too!

  5. I agree with the comments above. E-X was one of the greatest lines in the late 90s. Too bad it didn’t last long…

  6. I’d love to take that Pedro off you hands. Perhaps we can work out a trade.

    thecardsplitterATgmail.com

  7. Any of the # / numbered Frank Thomas inserts ?

  8. I was suggested this blog byy my cousin. I am not positive
    whether or not tuis publish is written by way of him as nobody else know such exact about
    mmy difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

